Reviews

ARC Review ➳ NIL by Lynne Matson

I was able to get an e-arc through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Genre;17225463
YA Dystopian

Summary;

On the mysterious island of Nil, the rules are set. You have one year. Exactly 365 days–to escape, or you die.

Seventeen-year-old Charley doesn’t know the rules. She doesn’t even know where she is. The last thing she remembers is blacking out, and when she wakes up, she’s lying naked in an empty rock field.

Lost and alone, Charley finds no sign of other people until she meets Thad, the gorgeous leader of a clan of teenage refugees. Soon Charley learns that leaving the island is harder than she thought . . . and so is falling in love. With Thad’s time running out, Charley realizes that to save their future, Charley must first save him. And on an island rife with dangers, their greatest threat is time.

If you’d like a copy for yourself or somebody else , you can click this image. Free shipping ftw!

Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

Review;

Rating; 4.3 Stars

Firstoff I want to say that I love the cover! I think it really fits the story really well and who doesn’t love the colour blue, right? 😀
I was really excited when I saw NIL on NetGalley! I know the author through several giveaways for NIL through twitter and she is an amazing person. That’s why I was a bit sceptical reading at first, because I didn’t want to dislike a book from an author who is so nice.

I can’t say no to a good dystopian and luckily I liked the whole storyline. I was really curious at how everything was going to unfold in the beginning.

Charley is in my opinion a likeable charachter and I connected with her right from the start. Connecting with Thad, the clan leader was a bit harder for me, but I thought he was alright.
I really liked all the other characters that were introduced in the book as well. My favourite character is actually Natalie, who becomes good friends with Charley later on.

I had a bit of a hard time to love the relationship between Charley and Thad. I thought it was insta love and that’s why I wasn’t able to like them together as much as I did when they were not ‘lovey dovey’.
I wasn’t really statisfied with the ending to be honest. I was expecting a more exciting ending or maybe I am just a really messed up person. 😂

NIL unlocked (book 2) is told from the perspective of two different characters than Charley and Thad. 

Overall I really enjoyed reading NIL! To those who have read it, are your thoughts different than mine? Let me know. 🙂
giphy

Love,

Dilara ♡

 

3 thoughts on “ARC Review ➳ NIL by Lynne Matson

  1. It was pretty much the same for me. I really liked the book, but I expected more from the ending. I really wanted to know more about the Man/Women in the Maze. I think it ended that way because it was originally a standalone and then I guess sales was enough to write a sequel.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t love this one as much as I loved Nil Unlocked, but it was still a great introduction. Lynne really is the nicest person! If you’re looking for more NIL content, there was a promo website made right before the launch of NILU. Hope you love it! And just so you know, there are three books in this series, which actually deterred me from the series a little bit. I was under the impression that NIL was a stand-alone, and I was surprised but happy when NILU came out, and by the time Nil on Fire was announced, I felt like it was too much. But the second book was surprisingly great!

    – Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

