Reviews

ARC Review – The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

I was able to get an e-arc through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
21979832
Genre;
YA Fantasy/ Time Travel

Summary;
Nix has spent her entire life aboard her father’s ship, sailing across the centuries, across the world, across myth and imagination.

As long as her father has a map for it, he can sail to any time, any place, real or imagined: nineteenth-century China, the land from One Thousand and One Nights, a mythic version of Africa. Along the way they have found crewmates and friends, and even a disarming thief who could come to mean much more to Nix.

But the end to it all looms closer every day.

Her father is obsessed with obtaining the one map, 1868 Honolulu, that could take him back to his lost love, Nix’s mother. Even though getting it—and going there—could erase Nix’s very existence.

For the first time, Nix is entering unknown waters.

She could find herself, find her family, find her own fantastical ability, her own epic love.

Or she could disappear.

If you’d like a copy for yourself or somebody else , you could click this image. Free shipping ftw! 🙂

Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

Review;

Rating; 4,5 Stars

I was really looking forward to reading this as soon as I got my hands on it. I ended up liking it luckily! There was a lot of hype for it, so I am glad it lived up to it. Also the cover is stunning!

Now I really haven’t read a lot of books that are about Time Travel, but I really liked the concept of it mixed with pirates! The setting is lovely as well -> Hawaii, 1868. I felt like I was in the story myself, travelling from place to place.
Fun fact; Heidi Heilig grew up in Hawaii  🙂

I was able to connect and love all the characters. Can I just say that I love the diversity in this book. All of them were different. It was part of why I liked it so much!
Now I am a sucker for romance in YA book, but what stood out to me in TGFE was the relationship between Nixie (the main character) and Slate (her father).

When I was nearing the ending I got so thrilled, aah! I just couldn’t put it down.

The main problem I had with it, was the plot. I wasn’t able to really understand it at certain times. That’s why I felt a bit lost. I seem to have it with other time travel books as well, so maybe the problem lies with me xD.
It took me some time to understand it, but despite that I really liked it.

Can I just have book 2? Like right now?
tumblr_maesm0Y4yT1rt2432.gif

Love,

Dilara

3 thoughts on “ARC Review – The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

  1. I really want to read this book. I’m loving time travel books lately. So glad you liked it! The Lilo and Stitch gif though… <33

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

