Reviews

ARC Review – Gabriel and The Swallows by Esther Dalseno

So I would like to apologize as I haven’t been able to really focus on my blog and reading this past month. I have been in reading slump, but maybe I will do a blog post about that later.

I have received an e-arc of this book thanks to Ben from OfTomes Publishing.
GATS final ebook
Genre;
Fantasy

Synopsis;

A lonely farm boy.
A girl with swallow’s wings.
An ancient city buried in a volcano.
A mystery old as blood and bone.

There is more to Gabriel than the life he’s ashamed of – the son of peasant winemakers, bullied relentlessly on account of his disabled mother. For Gabriel has a secret: the elaborate dream world he descends into at night – a grandiose, vivid existence – is becoming more real than his waking life.

Everything changes for Gabriel when he rescues a wounded creature – a miraculous girl with swallow’s wings – from the voracious pursuit of Alfio Gallo, a dangerous old enemy. Aided by the beautiful and mysterious Orlando Khan, Gabriel is conflicted by unanswered questions: who is the Dark One that dwells in the medieval tunnels beneath their city? Is he just a figment of Gabriel’s powerful imagination? And is the foundling really who she says she is?

Wrestling with manhood whilst beckoned by ancient rites and foreign lands, Gabriel is about to make a deadly decision that changes the course of life as he knows it…as long as he can decide which reality he’s in.

Review;

Rating; 3.8 stars

This is my first time reading a book by Esther Dalseno. I want to mention that I really love the way she has written GATS. It felt like a beautiful poem, the whole time I was reading it. I got immediately hooked, because of that alone. I really liked most of the characters and was able to read through it very fast.

There is this character introduced named Orlando. His family had emigrated from Turkey, which made me really excited, but at the same time a bit scared as to how much of what’s written would be accurate. It turned out to be alright, for me at least. I really liked that I got to read a book where at least a bit of my country is mentioned.

I didn’t like two things with this book though.
I couldn’t seem to like the main character, Gabriel. I wasn’t able to connect with him through most of the story and wasn’t really feeling his reactions in some parts of the book. Maybe that’s because he is quite young in the first part of the book, but I still wasn’t able to really connect with him later on as well sadly.
I was interested in the story line, but sometimes I felt like there was missing some plot. This was mostly in the middle of the book.

I really liked the beginning and the ending of it,so I am interested in what will happen in the next book as this is a duology! Thanks again to Ben and OfTomes Publishing for giving me a chance to read and review this book!

4a564c7b552ab8b65048e244f74fa1ee.gif

If you want to check it out, it comes out tomorrow -> 11-03-2016!

Love,

Dilara ❤

5 thoughts on “ARC Review – Gabriel and The Swallows by Esther Dalseno

    1. I would love to know what you think of it, since I haven’t read the debut! It did like it, but yeah I was expecting a bit more. Thanks for taking the time to read my review! 🙆🙆😄

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

