Reviews

ARC Review – Shtum by Jem Lester

Samantha Eades was kind enough to approve me for an e-arc of Shtum on Netgalley. I had heard lots of great things about this book, so I couldn’t wait to dive in.25369192

Genre;
Fiction/Contemporary/Mental Health

Synopsis;

Powerful, darkly funny and heart-breaking, Shtum is a story about fathers and sons, autism, and dysfunctional relationships.

Ben Jewell has hit breaking point. His ten-year-old son Jonah has severe autism and Ben and his wife, Emma, are struggling to cope.

When Ben and Emma fake a separation – a strategic decision to further Jonah’s case in an upcoming tribunal – Ben and Jonah move in with Georg, Ben’s elderly father. In a small house in North London, three generations of men – one who can’t talk; two who won’t – are thrown together.

A powerful, emotional, but above all enjoyable read, perfect for fans of THE SHOCK OF THE FALL and THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME.

Review;

Rating; 4 stars

I normally don’t read these type of books, so at first I was sceptical of me liking it or not. Can I just say that the cover is beautiful! I’m a sucker for books with amazing covers 😀

It was a fresh start of my reading this year, since I was able to read something out of my comfort zone. I enjoyed how different all the characters were. Their reactions to everything they had to deal with were believable and I appreciated that in a book were autism is invloved. I loved reading about that, since not a lot of books are focussed around autism.
There were a lot of emotional moments and I enjoyed them a lot as I was putting myself in the characters situations.

The plot was nice, but I thought their was something lacking in the end. It just felt like their was no full closure , since I was still wondering about certain characters. That was the only point were I had problems with in this book. Other than it was definitely an interesting read and I am glad I was able to read it!

8398761.gif

Thanks again, Samantha!

Love,

Dilara ❤

Leave a Reply

