Reviews

Book Review – The Heir by Kiera Cass

My first book of 2016! 22918050
The Heir is the fourth book in the Selection Series. I have read the first three books in the series and overall really enjoyed them, so I was really excited to start reading The Heir!

Genre;
YA fiction/ Romance

Synopsis;

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

Review;

Rating; 3.5 Stars

“You can be brave and still be feminine. You can lead and still love flowers. Most importantly, you can be queen and still be a bride.”

I enjoyed it and it was definitely a nice read. I was able to like most of the new characters that were introduced. I liked how the main charachter, Eadlyn didn’t want to connect with any of the boys at first.
While some people didn’t really like her character I thought she was alright. I liked her more than America, because I was able to connect with her. Although I liked her, there were sometimes were I felt like I didn’t even care about her. This was mainly because of her attitude.

At first I wasn’t really sure if I would like to read a different character. After a couple of chapters it didn’t really bother me as much, but the one thing that did was that there was nothing happing in the first half of the book at all. LIKE NOTHING AT ALL. It was really boring to get through the first half to be honest.
I loved the last part of the book. It was open ended. I think that was a clever way for Kiera to end The Heir, because I do want to read more.

Overall it was a fresh take on the Selection Series and I did like reading it. 🙂

anigif_original-30763-1405453823-7.gif
(I really wanted to include this GIF…don’t judge me..)

Love,

Dilara ❤

24 thoughts on “Book Review – The Heir by Kiera Cass

  1. Oh my, I’ve been meaning to give this series a proper review for sometime now. Thanks for reminding me. HAHAHA. Anyway, I really enjoyed reading your review! And honestly, I totally get what you mean. I was never able to connect with America as well. Quite frankly, she annoyed the hell out of me every now and then.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know that feeling, girl! Your welcome! 😘 Exactly that! She was so freaking annoying sometimes. Maxon was mainly the reason I kept reading 😂 don’t judge me.. I am a sucker when it comes to fictional boys!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I found America pretty annoying and I heard her daughter was even worse, so I didn’t bother to read this one. Maybe I might give this a try though haha. I LOVE THE GIF AT THE END OMG. 😂

    Lovely post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had the same exact feeling about America.. A lot of people taught she was worse, but I actually liked her better! You should try reading it! THAT GIF IS AMAZING, ISN’T? 😂 Thank you! ❤

      Like

      1. I just don’t connect with this series too much. I mean, there’s nothing particular about the books that bothers me, but all they’re all just… fine. No less, no more. You get what I mean?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Exactly. It’s not like I hate the series — I don’t even dislike it, to be honest — but I don’t love it either.
        But I’m still gonna pick up The Heir and read it through. 😜😜

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I actually liked the first 3 books in The Selection series (even though I couldn’t stand America at times.) But in The Heir, Eadlyn just annoyed me the whole time. I can’t wait for The Crown (have you seen the cover yet?) to come out to see if there’ll be some sort of redemption for Eadlyn’s character.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too. I liked the first books better, eventhough I also got annoyed with America. I did! I do love purple, so that’s one thing. We shall see. I don’t expect much of it to be honest 😅

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I actually loved this book! I really thought that Eadlyn’s disposition was a smart choice by Cass. I liked that she wasn’t like America or Maxon personality wise, but that she still had little pieces of them with her.

    I also liked a few of the boys! I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone, but I do have a favorite that I want her to pick (if she picks at all!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

