Reviews

ARC Review -Risuko by David Kudler

I recently had the chance to join the beta team and the author was friendly enough to send me a physical arc of Risuko.

Genre;
YA Fiction/ Historical

Synopsis;

Though Japan has been devastated by a century of civil war, Risuko just wants to climb trees. Growing up far from the battlefields and court intrigues, the fatherless girl finds herself pulled into a plot that may reunite Japan — or may destroy it. She is torn from her home and what is left of her family, but finds new friends at a school that may not be what it seems. Magical but historical, Risuko follows her along the first dangerous steps to discovering who she truly is.

Kano Murasaki, called Risuko (Squirrel) is a young, fatherless girl, more comfortable climbing trees than down on the ground. Yet she finds herself enmeshed in a game where the board is the whole nation of Japan, where the pieces are armies, moved by scheming lords, and a single girl couldn’t possibly have the power to change the outcome. Or could she?

Review;

Rating; 4 stars

Can I just say that I am in love with the cover. It looks stunning.

25700544
I was really excited to read this book as I love Japan and its culture, so it fit right up my alley. It was different from my normal read as I normally read a lot of fantasy myself, but I loved it.

At first it was going a bit too fast paced for me, but then as I kept on reading it I clearly understood everything. The plot was nicely written and kept me wanting for more. The second half of the book was amazing! I couldn’t put it down anymore and I was wondering what would happen next.

I especially loved the characters. I loved all of them and that doesn’t happen very often I can tell you. I was able to connect with all of them and I loved the main character’s interactions with everyone.

It was refreshing to read about something entirely different this time. It is lovely that I was able to read a culturally diverse book and it really worked for me. I can’t wait to read Bright Eyes, the second book in Seasons of the Sword when it comes out! 🙂

9291908

Love,

Dilara ❤

12 thoughts on “ARC Review -Risuko by David Kudler

  1. I think i have this in my want to read in goodreads 😊 the cover is soo beautiful and i love Japanese culture as well and seeing this review, i know i wont regret getting the book 👍

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

